The Telegraph String Quartet

Creative Arts Building, McKenna Theatre
Telegraph String Quartet

Concert Friday, October 27, 2017, 8pm
Master class Friday, October 20, 2017, 2pm

“Tonal beauty and intelligent attention to detail … a combination of brilliance and subtlety.”

- San Francisco Classical Voice 

The Telegraph Quartet was formed with an equal passion for the standard chamber music repertoire as well as contemporary and non-standard repertoire, alike. Described by the San Francisco Chronicle in 2017 as “an incredibly valuable addition to the cultural landscape,” the Telegraph Quartet was most recently awarded the prestigious 2016 Walter W. Naumburg Chamber Music Award. Past prizes include the Grand Prize at the 2014 Fischoff Chamber Music Competition. The quartet has since gone on to perform in concert halls, music festivals and academic institutions from Los Angeles and New York to Italy and Taiwan, including Carnegie Hall, San Francisco’s Herbst Recital Hall and the San Francisco Conservatory of Music Chamber Masters Series and at festivals including the Chautauqua Institute, Kneisel Hall Chamber Music Festival and the Emilia Romagna Festival. In 2016, the quartet was invited as one of a handful of emerging professional string quartets from around the world to perform in Paris, France at the Biennale de quatuors à cordes, a showcase for major concert presenters of Europe and Asia taking place at the Philharmonie de Paris.


John Harbison (b. 1938), String Quartet No. 6 (2016)

Hugo Wolf (1860-1903), Italian Serenade (1887)

Arnold Schoenberg (1874-1951), String Quartet No. 1, Opus 7 (1905)