Alexander String Quartet

<span class="date-display-single"> Sunday, September 18, 2016 at 3:00pm</span>

San Francisco State’s resident string quartet continues to delight and inspire Bay Area audiences with superb performances of Classical, Romantic and Modern repertoire. Free Admission.

Pre-Concert Talk: 
McKenna Theatre, Creative Arts Building

Master Class

Friday, September 16 at 2:00pm
Knuth Hall, Creative Arts Building

“As they did during the Haydn Quartet that opened the concert, the players impressed with their sure ensemble, lyricism, accurate pitch, handsome sound and technical fluidity.”

- The Boston Globe

Alexander String Quartet

Zakarias Grafilo,violin

Frederick Lifsitz, violin

Paul Yarbrough, viola

Sandy Wilson, cello

Celebrating its 35th Anniversary in 2016, the Alexander String Quartet has performed in the major music capitals of five continents, securing its standing among the world’s premier ensembles. Widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart, and Shostakovich, the quartet’s recordings of the Beethoven cycle (twice), Bartók, and Shostakovich cycles have won international critical acclaim. The Alexander String Quartet is a major artistic presence in its home base of San Francisco, serving since 1989 as Ensemble in Residence of San Francisco Performances and of the Morrison Chamber Music Center at San Francisco State University.


Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809), String Quartet No. 56 in G Minor, Op. 74, No. 3 (1793), "The Rider”.

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975), String Quartet No. 13 in B flat minor, Op. 138 (1970).

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827), String Quartet No. 8 in E minor, Op. 59, No. 2 (1808), “Razumovsky”.