Alexander String Quartet

Photo of Alexander String Quartet

SF State’s longtime quartet-in-residence and a major artistic presence in the Bay Area, the Alexander String Quartet has concertized in the major music capitals of five continents, securing its standing among the world’s premier chamber ensembles for more than three decades. Widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart, and Shostakovich, and internationally acclaimed for its recordings, the quartet has also established itself as an important advocate for new music. Free.

"An unusually fine group – musically, technically, in just about any way one wants to view it." —The New York Times

Pre-Concert Talk: 
Pre-Concert Talk: 2:00 pm
McKenna Theatre, Creative Arts Building

Master Class

Master Class: Friday, Sept. 26, 2:10-4:00 pm - Knuth Hall, Creative Arts Building


W. A. Mozart (1756-1791), Adagio and Fugue in C minor, K. 546 (1788)
Zoltan Kodaly (1882-1967), String Quartet No.2, Opus 10 (1916-18)
L. van Beethoven (1770-1827), Grosse Fuge in Bb major, Opus 133 (1825)
Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975), String Quartet No.2 in A major, Opus 68 (1944)

Will-call tickets can be picked up from the box office starting September 17, Wednesdays – Fridays, noon – 4pm, and the day of the concert.